Hello from Brazil!

Home Forums User Introductions Hello from Brazil!

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• JorgeYYZ
    Participant

Hi everyone! My name is Jorge. I’m a History teacher and (retro) gamer from Brazil. English is not my first language, so I am sorry in advance for any and all mistakes.

My first experience with computers is a bit cloudy. I remember playing around on a couple of systems, but can’t really tell which one was the actual first. I remember playing Moon Patrol on my neighbors’ TK-2000, playing a lot of games on my cousins’MSX, and playing Prince of Persia on my uncle’s 286. Back in those days, I had a Sega Master System, which was quite popular in Brazil in the early 90s.

I eventually got my own computer some time after that. It was a 486 DX2 66MHz with 8 megs of RAM and, crucially, a “multimedia kit”. It ran DOS 6.22 and Windows 3.1. That’s when I really started digging deep into gaming, and where I first surfed the web via BBS. My favorite games of that period are Doom, Stunts, and Transport Tycoon. I soon discovered Dark Forces, Full Throttle, (local and international) PC gaming magazines that came with demo CDs, and well, the rest is history. Here I am some 30 years later enjoying PC games and taking care of a couple of old machines.

I discovered the DOS Game Club browsing Spotify and have been listening to it for quite a while now. I finally decided to come to the forums and participate more actively in the community. I’m looking forward to reading stories and thoughts on all things related to MS-DOS gaming and I hope I can contribute with some of my own ideas too.

Martli
    Participant

Welcome! Are you a fellow Rush fan!?!

JorgeYYZ
    Participant